Dispersion of Air Pollution & Penetration into the Local Environment

DAPPLE-EPSRC (2002-2006)



Firstly, from the DAPPLE Management Board to all those who worked with such enthusiasm and professionalism and made DAPPLE such a great success.

The DAPPLE Management Board

University of Surrey, Alan Robins
Imperial College, Roy Colvile, Helen ApSimon, Mark Nieuwenhuijsen
University of Bristol, Dudley Shallcross
University of Cambridge, Rex Britter
University of Leeds, Margaret Bell, Alison Tomlin
University of Reading, Stephen Belcher, Janet Barlow


The DAPPLE Research Team

Imperial College
Chris Pain, Helen ApSimon, Hongbin Wang, Mark Nieuwenhuijsen, Roy Colvile, Samantha Arnold, Surbjit Kaur, Chris Pain, Elsa Aristodemou
University of Bristol
Catheryn Price, Damien Martin, Dudley Shallcross, Graham Nickless, Tony Makepeace, B. Greally, A. Knights, P. Simmonds
University of Cambridge
Marina Neophytou, Rex Britter
University of Leeds
James Tate, Margaret Bell, Alison Tomlin, Rob Smalley, Doug Boddy
University of Reading
Adrian Dobre, Janet Barlow, Steven Belcher, Samantha Arnold
University of Surrey
Alan Robins, Hong Cheng, Sandro Baldi, Paul Hayden, Tom Lawton, Allan Wells

... and all the "volunteers" who helped make the field work work.


Funding bodies

EPSRC Environment and Infrastructure Programme
Home Office CBRN S&T Programme


Special thanks to:

TfL for support and, very importantly, arranging the installation and removal of instrumentation
WCC for enthusiastic support, patience, access and working space
APRIL for co-ordinating and organising meetings
UK Met Office for advice and provision of meteorological information and forecasts
UWERN for providing essential links with NERC urban boundary research
Health & Safety Laboratory, Buxton, for collaboration in exposure visualisation work
DIN Cafe & Restaurant, Melcombe Street, for a site meeting room, coffee and cakes


and to those who contributed to the PAG (Programme Advisory Group):

ALG (Association of London Government), Chris Lee, Daniel Harrison
APRIL (Air Pollution Research in London), Linda Davies
Borough of Camden, Anna Tod, Anna Savage
BRE (Building Research Establishment), Sani Dimitroulopoulou, Vina Kukadia
Bristol City Council, David Muir
Cambridge City Council, Jo Dicks
City of Westminster, Stevet Neville, Barry Davies
DEFRA, AEQ Division, Martin Williams, Janet Dixon
DSTL (Porton Down), Roger Kingdon
Environment Agency, Thames Region, Jim Storey
GLA (Greater London Authority), David Vowles
Home Office (CBRN), Linda Galloway, Nicola
HSE (Health and Safety Executive), Steven Porter
HSL (Health and Safety Laboratory), Peter Walsh, Rodger Clark
King's College London, School of Health and Life Science, David Green
Leicester City Council, Nick Hodges
NERI (Denmark), Steen Solvang Jensen
NRPB (National Radiation Protection Baord), Arthur Jones
NSCA (National Society for Clea Air) Tim Williamson
Reading City Council, Richard Marks
Surrey County Council, Peter Sivell, John Pitt
TfL (Transport for London), Nicola Cheetham, Peter Brown, Tim Barlow
UK Meteorological Office, David Thomson, Doug Middleton, Matthew Hort
University College London, Ben Croxfod
UWERN (University's Weather Research Network), Paul Mason